jump to navigation

Election Day November 8, 2006

Posted by shwaldman in Politics, Society.
Tags: , ,
trackback
Well, yesterday was Election Day. Growing up I was never into politics, though curious by the process and enjoyed going into the polling place and the election booth with my mom. Today, we are living in a time when the political climate seems so tense and important, and yet so few people are voting. Personally, I had to vote via absentee ballot since I was out of state – so I don’t buy the excuse that people don’t have enough time.
 
But I am starting to buy the excuse that people just feel their vote doesn’t matter. Politics seems so corrupt and our system seems so corrupt that I do not know what we can do about it. There is one President and vice president, 435 congress representative and 100 senates, 50 governors. When you watch each individual ad campaign during the fall season, you start to wonder if there are any good people out there trying help our country. Voting for the “lesser of two evils” seems like a bad choice to have to make.
 
Then you look at all the laws that we are inacting and wonder how free we are. If, as I have heard rumors, we are moving towards making smoking illegal, what freedoms do we have? I personally dispise smoking – my father died of lung cancer in his early fifties, but it seems to me that people should have rights to do as they like as long as it doesn’t negatively affect me. Sure – I get the agrument that health care costs go up, but let’s utilize our wealth of computer technology and maintain different “accounts” for smokers and non-smokers. Solutions are not always simple, but our government is currently not making to protect us, but rather make themselves more wealthy. Life should not be about money – it should be about being healthy and happy.
 
How can we get back to that point?
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

