jump to navigation

Book Review: “Dreams from My Father” by Barack Obama March 13, 2009

Posted by shwaldman in Politics, Society.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Dreams from My Father

Dreams from My Father


I just finished Barack Obama’s first book, Dreams from My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance this week. We picked it up from Audible.com so I just listened to it during my commutes to and from work. It is only a 35-40 minute drive, so it took the whole week. The book is about seven (7) hours.

Firstly, I think one of things that made this book any good was the fact that he read it himself. His personality and expression comes out so well in his voice. And something I found very interesting was his different voices/ impressionations of the people in his life, mother, grandmother, sisters, cousins, friends. They really came to life with their accents and tone.

Second, I felt the book was a very good insight into how our new President became the man he is today. It is a very down to earth account of his life growing up, from Hawaii to Indonesia and back. It covers his early schooling, college and onto his first job and then his life as a community organizer.

In some areas there are lots of details and you can really see what happened in his life to motivate him to where he has risen. And oddly in some ways, because the count is so open and real, he seems no different than you or I. Of course, as I would expect Obama provides a very self-aware account of his life as a black man with a Kenyan father and Kansas mother.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in learning more about our new President, Barack Obama.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

