jump to navigation

Lip Syncing on American Idol March 27, 2009

Posted by shwaldman in Society, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

idol-logo
So, I know it is their voices. I am sure they sang the song in a recording studio, but they just can’t dance and sing at the same time. I don’t remember this being such an issue in past years. To me, this points to the weak field we are witnessing this season.

I don’t think I would mind as much if they were experienced lip syncers – they need to bone up on Milli Vanilli – but these guys can’t do it. Some artists can’t do it because the dance moves are too aerobic – they can’t physically breath that hard and sing. But the moves the American Idol choreographers have laid out are more stage directions – they can’t lip sync and walk at the same time. It makes for a sad performance. You either have to look away and only listen or turn down the volume and watch them move (note: not dance).

This week Adam’s near perfect performance just about won him this year’s title. Unfortunately, looking back at past winners, being able to “make a song your own” has not been the prerequisite. But this stand out performance put him well into the lead. Barring big improvements the also-ran’s it looks like his ability to morph from alternative rock anything the producers of the show throw at them, I think Adam has it.

My pick from the early auditions has been Anoop. I still think he has a chance and he does seem to utilize the judges feedback, so I still have my hopes. The other guys are good, too, but it is an especially weak field of ladies.

Comments»

1. Teddie Miller - May 12, 2009

I FINALLY watched American Idol toninght, since I hear about it ALL day on the radio every day. I didn’t think I would be all that impressed, but I REALLY didn’t expect to be SO DISAPPOINTED! I had NO idea that they all lip sync-I HATE that! I cannot BELIEVE the show is SO popular when they don’t even actually sing! How in the world are there so many people that are into such a FAKE show!!! I will NOT watch it again!


Leave a Reply

