jump to navigation

Drug Side Affect: Zyrtec Heart Rate and Dizzy May 7, 2009

Posted by shwaldman in Family, Society.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

zyrtec_logo
I have been taking Zyrtec for a couple of years now. Four years ago, I saw a allergist and he had me try Claritin and Advair. The Advair helped, but the Claritin had little affect. So, I switched to Zyrtec. Later it became an over-the-counter drug and made it easy to get ahold of, but still worked just as well.

The past couple of years, I would get a “cold” in the late winter and from that point on, I would have running nose and sore throat. Left untreated, I had gotten respritory infections. This year, I took a proactive approach and started taking the allergy medicine in February and March as soon as I felt the scratchy throat coming.

That was really working well for me until this past weekend. I take my medicine before bed 1) so I don’t forget and 2) in case it makes me sleepy,… I am already going to bed. Well, I finished a bottle of the Zyrtec I had since February on Friday night. So, on Saturday night, I started a new bottle that got from Costco when then had a coupon last month. Now Saturday had been a very long day, I worked in the yard early in the day and then we had a big house party and I spent a fair amount of time carrying the little one around so he didn’t get stepped on. (I only bring this up because that and the yard work can really do a number on my back.)

A couple of minutes after I took the medicine on Saturday night, I noticed I felt a little dizzy. I immediately associated it to my back and the long day. I didn’t think much of it, but knew I would wake up with a very sore back. When I did wake up, I was groggy and tired and felt like my back was very sore (which really equates to a tired blah feeling). I didn’t even think about the Zyrtec.

The next night, I had a similar response, though the dizziness was less and felt like my heart was racing a little. Again, I didn’t think much of it until morning when Kim said she had taken a Zyrtec and had similar effects. So, I skipped it on Monday night and had no similar problems, although woke up with a scratchy throat. I decided to try a Claritin, but like before that had little effect. I took another Claritin the next night and had again no dizziness or racing heart, but no relief from the allergy symptoms.

So, last night I decided to try the Zyrtec and sure enough, my heart raced for a bit. It was kind of like my heart thought I was walking around fast, but I was lying in bed. It is an odd sensation for sure. So, I don’t know if the ingredients changed, or what. Kim was not able to find anything on the Zyrtec website or the Costco website. Obviously, I need to stop using this bottle, but we are going to get another bottle from the drug store and see how that goes. More on this later.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

