jump to navigation

(Audio)Book Review: Born to Run By Christopher McDougall February 9, 2010

Posted by shwaldman in Fitness, Society, Technology.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

The following is based on my review at Audible.com: I decided I had to write this review because I saw a review (at Audible) that an “avid runner” gave it 2-stars after listening for only 20 minutes. I know the exact point at which she stopped listening – it was talking about why running is supposed to be bad for humans.

If she would have kept listening she would have been treated to an enthralling tale about the greatest distance runners of all time. This book weaves what feels like a fictional story that details the fascinating progress of science and growth of running in America (and Mexico). The amazing part of the book is that it is about real people and real events.

I have to say this is a must listen to for anyone interested in running at any level. It covers the history of running shoes. It covers the transition the human body has made for running. Of course, it covers the best ultra distance runners of our time. It is such a good read!

And for anyone who has the question… the answer is: yes, running is actually very good for the human body, if you do it right. As simple as it is, there is still a right way and a wrong way to run. If you have any question or doubt, you have to read/listen to this book.

I have many books in my WishList at Audible and when a “one book” sale came up, I had to make the decision based on the best rated books in my list. Obviously, this one won, and there is good reason. I gave it five stars in my review and it is defintely the best book I have downloaded from the site so far.

Comments»

1. (Audio)Book review: Once a Runner By John L. Parker « Some Waldman’s Blog – Finding Balance in the Flood of Information - March 2, 2010

[…] and read my review here if you want to know why. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)(Audio)Book Review: Born to Run By Christopher McDougallOnce A RunnerNew Fiction […]


Leave a Reply

