jump to navigation

Shoe Review: New Balance 810 April 14, 2010

Posted by shwaldman in Fitness.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I picked these shoes up last summer on clearance from a local shoe shop. Their prices are often a little high, so I was excited to find shoes I liked and in my size on sale. These shoes are hard to find, but I think the original retail price was around $95. It is a pretty good deal that I got these for $70, but looking back, I should have passed.

It is not that I do not like these shoes, because I really do. I have always like the styling of NB trail shoes. They have a sturdy, yet light feel and they stay really clean. The sole is a little wider than the shoe which gives the shoe a good grip for the dirt roads and trails that I typically take these shoes.

I have had street NB trainers when I was running my first marathon (many moons ago). I found that they broke down really fast. I was training and putting in a lot of miles, but still they were truly worn out by the time I got to the race. These shoes have held up a bit better. I have put on about 200 miles and the tread is still nearly perfect. The shoe upper is still clean and in great shape. I do have to say that the cushioning is broken down a bit and it feels like my foot has sunk down into the shoe. It makes it feel like my foot is wrapped inside the sole, which is great for traction, but not great for a comfort ride.

All in all, this is a really good shoe. For the price, I think it is a little expensive, even though I got it in on clearance. Comparing to other shoes, I think I would have been more satisfied if I paid under $60. I am still looking for a durable shoe where the sole, upper and cushioning can last more than 400 miles.

Comments»

1. Tweets that mention Shoe Review: New Balance 810 « Some Waldman’s Blog – Finding Balance in the Flood of Information -- Topsy.com - April 28, 2010

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Scott Waldman. Scott Waldman said: Shoe Review: New Balance 810: http://wp.me/phONP-gA […]


Leave a Reply

