jump to navigation

Shoe Review: Saucony Grid Ignition April 14, 2010

Posted by shwaldman in Fitness.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

I picked up these Saucony shoes from DSW Shoes. They retail for $65, but at DSW, you can get them for $50. I usually check the clearance racks, but did not find anything I liked in my size. But for the Ignition, I was able to get a size 11.5 that fit well. In past purchases of the Saucony, I have found they feel kind of hard. I think the Grid technology gives the shoes a solid strength, but while it makes it last, I feel like the hardness reverberates up my legs. Many years ago, Pre-Grid, I had my favorite Saucony shoe, the Procyon, that had a slipper like feel, but I was not able to put as many miles on them. It is a trade-off, I suppose.

So, these Grid Ignition are pretty good in between the two issues. The majority of my training with these shoes has been on the treadmill. With the weather turning nicer, I will likely take them outside a little more now. I am working on shifting my landing position further forward in my foot and so the Grid comes less into play. And with this shoe, the forefoot cushioning is comfortable and appropriate. I did find that doing any lateral movements made the shoe slide under my foot and risk turning my ankle. I do not think this will be a problem on uneven surfaces since in the forward movement, the shoe stays well under the foot. I will update here if I find otherwise.

Overall, I like this shoe and would get it again. The price is good and the quality is solid. And for my foot, which is fairly regular, I suppose, I am happy with the fit. I think this shoe will work for a large variety of foot planting/gait styles. Please comment here if you tried this shoe. Thanks for reading.

Comments»

1. Tweets that mention Shoe Review: Saucony Grid Ignition « Some Waldman’s Blog – Finding Balance in the Flood of Information -- Topsy.com - April 28, 2010

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Scott Waldman. Scott Waldman said: Shoe Review: Saucony Grid Ignition: http://wp.me/phONP-f9 […]


Leave a Reply

