jump to navigation

Today’s Inspiration from TED (part 1): Compassion April 7, 2011

Posted by shwaldman in Politics, Society, Technology.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I was driving to run an errand this morning and this first TED Talk really hit home. I work for a publicly funded education organization. When I joined, I think I may have thought that the level of compassion in the organization was high because of that. After three and a half years, I think I have come to the realization that it is not what the organization does, but how they do their work that makes them compassionate.

I know there are a lot of mixed feelings about Google. I feel based on my experiences with their products is that they are growing and getting more complex and this causes some dilution of their intent to “do no harm.” But in general, I honestly feeling like they try to do the right thing regardless of costs. Pulling out of China was costly for them, but they did it because it was the right thing. I would like to think that we could all start to “do the right thing” instead of always being concerned about how it expensive it is to us. Because, in the end, the cost of us doing nothing or doing the wrong thing, is harming someone else and costing them even more.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

