jump to navigation

Movie Review: Horrible Bosses August 5, 2011

Posted by shwaldman in Movies, Society.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback


Netflix Synopsis: Disgruntled buddies Nick (Jason Bateman), Kurt (Jason Sudeikis) and Dale (Charlie Day) can’t leave their miserable jobs, so they cook up a creative strategy for eliminating each other’s micromanaging and maniacal employers (Jennifer Aniston, Colin Farrell, Kevin Spacey) instead in this crackpot comedy. Peculiar advice from con artist Motherf**ker Jones (Jamie Foxx) gets the scheme in motion, but the pals can’t keep the wheels from flying off.

If you have been reading my last few reviews, I think you will know agree with me on the threesome is required for a good comedic movie. With this movie, I rest my case. Bateman, Sudeikis, Day include the perfect mix of crazy, straight and side-kick roles and play off each other well. The movie had lots of “what is going on?” moments, and I think it took it over the top at times. But it was how the characters handled the situations that made it funny.

This wasn’t the funniest movie I have seen this summer, but it is definitely up there. I would recommend this to anyone that works for a living and has a boss that they wish they could “change.” I would definitely agree with the movie’s title. Aniston, Spacey and Farrell play the most horrible bosses one could possibly imagine. And they do it perfectly. While they are the side-show, I think these three stars made the movie better than good. I definitely recommend.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

