jump to navigation

Book Review: A Dog’s Purpose By W. Bruce Cameron August 31, 2011

Posted by shwaldman in Family, Society.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I admit, I do not read a lot of physical books. I listen to tons of podcasts and books in audio format. I have not read or listened to Cameron’s other books: “8 Simple Rules for Marrying My Daughter”, “How to Remodel a Man, “8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daugther” (which resulted in the ABC hit TV show with John Ritter). My wife bought this book for me a couple of months ago when she had heard it was a good read. Knowing that it might take me months to get through, she even said she wanted to read it after me. (it will likely take her 1/4 the time it took me.)

I need say only one thing about this book… I finished it in under 2 1/2 weeks. For me, that says A LOT! The book was moving and suspenseful. For anyone that knows and loves dogs, this is a must read. The author took possession of this dog’s soul and was able to bring forward the story of several lives through reincarnation. There is no religious backing to this story, just the recounting of life through the eyes of a dog. Cameron does an amazing job of taking away all the preconceptions that human eyes would see and demonstrate the filter of the mutt, the Lab, German Shepard or whatever form this animal had through his travels.

Throughout this book, I felt for this dog and felt the anticipation of each next scene, the next event that would shape his/her life. I did not want to put the book down – always ready to see where the story would go next. As dog lover, it was funny to hear the sarcasm and superiority that this dog felt in his journey – mostly with respect to the other animals in the environment.

I am curious about certain takes that Cameron took on the dog’s life, memory and interactions. I would love to hear what other reads have to say about 1) how he/she interacted with other animals 2) how she was able to remember certain facts and 3) what was the time span of the story?

In any case, I am sure you will thoroughly enjoy this book.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

